Fantastic summer exhibitions

Regular followers will know I usually blog about my work. However I’d like to take time in this blog to talk about some of the amazing free exhibitions on this summer, as well as giving a bit of an update on my work.

First up, our amazing summer exhibition at the City Art Centre: Edinburgh Alphabet. If you haven’t been yet, there really is something for everyone- from social history to sculpture! The exhibition is on until 8 October.

Then there is the wonderful It’s Alive at the Museum of Childhood. An interactive exhibition of automata. My particular favourites are the cat and the rabbit in a cabbage…

…Although the Museum of the Mind is pretty amazing too:

videotogif_2017.06.30_16.42.18

Also opening soon at the Museum of Childhood: Let’s Go to a Place, an exhibition by Wendy McMurdo. The exhibition explores the relationships between children and digital media.

MOC McMurdo Young Girl (iv) (002)

The Museum of Edinburgh is hosting two exhibitions: A Tale on the Mile by photographer David Guillen and Musket Axe and Drum: The Town Guard at a time
of Unrest 1688-1817.

Soldier-Web (002)

2017 marks the 200th anniversary of the disbanding of the Edinburgh Town Guard and in the exhibition you can learn about crime and punishment in Edinburgh in the past.

DCb0B3NXkAAWfmy

For those who prefer their crime to be more contemporary (and fictional), the Writers’ Museum is hosting Rebus 30, an exhibition exploring the work of Ian Rankin.

2017-06-30-13-11-38small.jpg

You can also still visit the Crossings exhibition exploring the heritage of Leith at the People’s Story Museum or watch the dance films online.

In other news, I’m very excited to have been selected as a mentor for the Museums Association’s Mentoring for All programme. I have now taken part in a training day in Birmingham and I have had my first meeting with my mentee. I’ll blog a bit more about my experience as time goes on.  I’ve also been selected as a Trustee for the Social History Curators Group– very exciting!

I have also recently been working with a range of groups to offer activities. I’ve run reminiscence in a range of venues from the Western Infirmary to various care homes and day centres. I’ve run tours of Edinburgh Alphabet for the friends of the City Art Centre as well as giving curator’s tours on the Leith and Fishing sections of the exhibition. I’ve also been offering games activities in local libraries for the summer holidays.

I have also spent some time updating some of our loan and reminiscence boxes and I have completely redeveloped our Leisure and Going Out reminiscence box. If you would like to borrow one of our free resources, please contact me on 0131 529 6365 or diana.morton@edinburgh.gov.uk.

I did enjoy looking at some of the objects now included- such as these I Spy books:DSC_3146 (002)

As mentioned in my previous post, I’ve also been developing a new  programme for Art in the City for autumn 2017. If you  know of someone who is affected by dementia who may enjoy taking part, do ask them to contact me so I can add them to the mailing list.

More recently I’ve also working on a small touring version of the Proud City exhibition which will travel to local libraries. Watch this space for more information!

About edinburghmuseumsoutreach

I'm the Outreach & Access Manager at Edinburgh Museums & Galleries (the museums service of the City of Edinburgh Council). I take the museums out to community groups and schools. I really enjoy meeting lots of people of different ages and backgrounds and helping them connect with our collections. I love showing people some of the amazing objects that we hold and I like helping them to remember the past or to create something amazing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

